# **Connecticut Spectrum Management Association**

# **Meeting Minutes**

# ZOOM Meeting

### October 22, 2023

President Paul Gibson called the meeting to order at 10:03 AM. (The meeting was conducted on-line via Zoom software, to reduce participant travel-time.)

Officers present were:

President	Paul Gibson (N1TUP)
Secretary	Dan Thayer (W1CDT)
Treasurer	[VACANT]
Director - 860 & Freg. Coordinator	Dana Underhill (KB1AEV)
Director – 203	Curt Seaton (K4JCS)
Director at Large	George Carbonell (N1RMF)
Director at Large	Bruce Marcus (N1XG)

Officers Absent:

Vice President

Rod Lane (N1FNE)

Also participating were:

Don Gouin (K1CMM), Mike Walters (W8ZY), Joe Szczech (K1IKE), Rick Castrogiovnni (N1JGR), James Kalkowski (N1GTL), Greg Davis (WR1Z), Bob LaFlamme (W1SQ), Dana Borgman (KA1WPM), Tim Rodgers (KC1TWR), Jason Bousquet (N7PRD), Bob Demattia (K1IW)

#### Moment of Remembrance:

President Gibson requested that prior to their deliberations, the group observe a moment of silence in remembrance of Fran Miele (W1FJM)(SK), the incumbent CSMA Treasurer, who passed away in early October, 2023.

#### Old Business:

- The Minutes of the October 23, 2022 meeting were read by the Secretary. A motion to accept the Minutes as read was made (Marcus) and seconded (Carbonell), and passed by voice vote.
- An interim Treasurer's Report was presented by the President. The October, 2022 beginning balance was \$2,484. Expenses were \$50. The stated ending balance was \$2,434. A motion to accept the Treasurer's Report as presented was made (Gouin) and seconded (Carbonell). In discussion, the question was raised (Thayer) regarding an unrepresented charitable donation. A review will be made of the account statement by Gibson, and a final report made at the next meeting. The motion on the floor was amended to accept the Treasurer's Report as an Interim Report pending further review, and passed by voice vote.
- Gibson reported that he had accomplished the approved Revisions and Deletions to the CSMA Coordination Guidelines, Policies 8, 13, 14 D, 15 B, and 16.

These were action items from the 2022 CSMA meeting.

(continued) Page 1 of 2 • Underhill reported that the proposed adoption of the NESMC Coordination Application flowchart and "How To..." documentation has not been completed. He requested that this be carried forward as an action Item. Existing problems with the CSMA website must be overcome to permit this change.

This is an Action Item from the CSMA meetings of 2020, 2021, and 2022.

• Underhill reported that the repair of the "broken" email system that provides CSMA Officers with coordination status reports is a work-in-progress, but a permanent "fix" seems possible in the near future.

This is an Action Item from the CSMA meeting of 2022.

#### New Business:

- Gibson informed the members that one (1) year remained in the term of office for the Treasurer, previously held by Fran Miele (W1FJM)(SK). A volunteer to serve the remainder of that term was requested. Thayer volunteered. After discussion, a motion was made (Marcus) and seconded (Underhill) to appoint Thayer as the interim Treasurer. Passed by voice vote.
- A motion was made (Marcus) and seconded (Carbonell) to add a third signatory to the CSMA checking account, to include the President, Treasurer, and 860 Area Director. After discussion, it was passed by voice vote.
- Election of Officers

CSMA officers serve staggered 3-year terms. This year the offices subject to election are:

Vice President (Incumbent – Rod Lane, N1FNE) Secretary (Incumbent – Dan Thayer, W1CDT) Director-203 (Incumbent – Curt Seaton, K4JCS)

Incumbents Lane and Seaton had previously indicated to the Secretary their willingness to serve another term. Thayer was also willing to serve another term.

There were no nominations from the floor.

The President directed the Secretary to cast a single ballot for each of the incumbents

The following were elected to a 3-year term ending 12-31-26.

Vice President Secretary Director-203 Rod Lane (N1FNE) Dan Thayer (W1CDT) Curt Seaton (K4JCS)

#### Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the group, a Motion to Adjourn was made (Thayer) and seconded (Carbonell), and approved by unanimous voice vote. President Gibson adjourned the meeting at 10:31 AM.

## MINUTES ARE NOT OFFICIAL UNTIL APPROVED AT A SUBSEQUENT MEETING